Skip to content

R Studio

March 8, 2011
R Studio on MS Windows

R Studio on MS Windows

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you think that R is The EnvironmentForStatisticalAnalysisAndGraphics but you do not think that Vim is The Editor for text files you might want to have a look at R Studio. It works on Windows, MacOS and Linux. I tried it out on my Ubuntu and it looks and works brilliantly. See more screenshots here. I will seriously consider it for teaching R.

My fingers are already addicted to Vim, so I do not plan to switch to any alternative interface any time soon.

7 Comments
  1. March 8, 2011 22:03

    dude, Emacs is obviously The Editor.

    That being said, RStudio looks very nice.

    • March 8, 2011 22:06

      Oh no, let’s not go into this… 😀

  2. Wayne permalink
    March 9, 2011 00:58

    RStudio holds lots of promise, but it currently doesn’t offer much more than the default (Mac) GUI, and its plot windows somehow have different defaults from the default GUI’s Quartz windows. (I use BBEdit to edit, by the way.)

    Once it gets more Preferences (there’s only one right now), I think it’ll be a contender.

    • March 9, 2011 01:20

      Agreed. It is still somewhat plain as it goes for customization. You can’t even change the font of the editor and console. I’m not a Mac user, but from what I’ve seen R on Mac is way better than default Windows version. I think R studio might be a good alternative for R users on Windows and Linux (unless they use Vim, or Emacs/ESS for that matter 😉 )

  3. March 9, 2011 05:10

    I’ve also found that it crashes way more than my regular old R console.

    • March 9, 2011 09:59

      It did not crush on me yet, but the fact is i may have not give it enough time. Well, they are still working on it. That is just the very first release AFAIK

  4. March 6, 2012 12:14

    The new release adds some great functionality — if only we could convince them to embed vim as a text editor!

Comments are closed.